Although every car accident causes stress and uncertainty, auto insurance takes some doubt away from these situations. When an at-fault driver has insurance, the victim has a straightforward path to receiving compensation for property damage and injuries. This is why Ohio law requires every motorist to have proof of financial responsibility.
The most common way for Ohio drivers to prove financial responsibility is by purchasing insurance. But when drivers do not have coverage and cause collisions, it can leave victims with a lot of questions.
According to the Ohio Department of Insurance, every driver who purchases insurance must buy the following types and minimum amounts of coverage:
- $25,000 of Property Damage Liability Coverage per injured person or destruction of property
- $25,000 of Bodily Injury Liability Coverage per injured person
- $50,000 of Bodily Injury Liability Coverage for multiple injured people
However, the ODI recommends drivers to purchase more than the minimum.
Uninsured and underinsured insurance
Due to the reality that some drivers will illegally choose not to carry insurance, Ohio allows motorists to purchase uninsured and underinsured motorist coverage. According to the law, UIM insurance allows victims to make claims with their own insurance providers in the event they are a victim of a car accident because of an uninsured driver. Then, the insurance providers seek to recover compensation from that driver.
Personal injury lawsuits
Victims of car accidents have the right to seek compensation from at-fault motorists, even if they do not have adequate coverage. This allows victims to seek compensation for losses such as medical bills, lost income, property damage, pain and suffering and mental anguish.